Message from the Director

In FY 2023, the Nicholas Institute accelerated solutions for critical energy and environmental challenges, advancing a more just, resilient, and sustainable world.

Working alongside external partners and experts across Duke University, our team conducted and curated actionable research to inform decision-making on topics like extreme heat, energy infrastructure, small-scale fisheries, water affordability, and more.

Nicholas Institute experts engaged with policymakers, businesses, and communities in sustained ways to help craft solutions and ensure their workability. We shared knowledge and co-created innovative approaches to daunting challenges like decarbonizing the US economy, identifying climate finance opportunities, and developing climate-resilient communities and ecosystems.

Our team delivered transformative educational experiences to inspire and equip Duke students as leaders, offering a robust slate of courses, hands-on projects, events, summer experiences, and more.

Additionally, the Nicholas Institute played a pivotal role in the launch of the Duke Climate Commitment, a university-wide, impact-oriented collaboration to address climate challenges.

Hope you enjoy exploring some of the highlights from FY 2023 at the Nicholas Institute. Looking forward to what’s next!

Brian Murray

Dr. Brian Murray

Interim Director

Nicholas Institute for Energy, Environment & Sustainability

Nicholas Institute Board of Advisors

Chair William K. Reilly, Former Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (1989-1993)

Ex Officio Lori Bennear, Stanback Dean of the Nicholas School of the Environment

Disque Deane Jr., Chief Investment Officer and Co Portfolio Manager, Water Asset Management LLC

Andrew Ellenbogen, Managing Director & Global Co-Head of Power & Renewables, EIG Partners

Ex Officio Judith Kelley, Dean, Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke University

Suedeen G. Kelly, Partner, Jenner & Block

Mark Laabs, Managing Director of Modern Energy; Chairman of Faro Energy; and Chairman of the Rare Cancer Research Foundation

Elizabeth Littlefield, Senior Counselor, Albright Stonebridge Group

Christina Dowding Nicholas

Edward Norton, Senior Advisor, TPG Capital

Diana Propper de Callejon, Managing Director, Cranemere

Cornelia Quennet-Thielen, Former Secretary of State, Federal Ministry for Education and Research, Federal Republic of Germany

Carter S. Roberts, President and CEO, World Wildlife Fund – United States

M.A. Rogers

William Rosenberg, President, E3 Gasification LLC

Virginia Sall, Co-Founder and Director, Sall Family Foundation

Jim Salzman, Donald Bren Distinguished Professor of Environmental Law UCLA School of Law and Bren School of the Environment at UC–Santa Barbara

Douglas Scott, Chair, Illinois Commerce Commission

Alison Taylor, Chief Sustainability Officer, Archer Daniels Midland

Mark Tercek, Advisor, Author, and Speaker; Former President and CEO, The Nature Conservancy

Susan F. Tierney, Senior Advisor, Analysis Group

Douglas Wheeler, Partner, Hogan Lovells US LLP

Ana Zacapa Camberos, Board Chair, Root Capital

Junjie Zhang, Director, iMEP Program and Environmental Research Center, Duke Kunshan University; Associate Professor, Duke Kunshan University and Duke University

Stay Connected